

# BOARD OF VOTER REGISTRATION and ELECTIONS OF BEAUFORT COUNTY



Tyrone S. Clifford *Chairman* 

William Severns

Vice Chairman

Marie S. Smalls *Director* 

**Board Members:**William Bronson

William Bronson Beverly Dore Dean Hewitt Philip Jones Bruce Massey James Rowe Rupert Williams 15 John Galt Road ● Post Office Drawer 1228 ● Beaufort, South Carolina 29901-

Minutes from the June 17, 2016 Recount Hearing of the South Carolina House District 122 Results, held at the Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Beaufort County

15 John Galt Rd, Beaufort, SC

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**

William Severns, Vice-Chairman Dean Hewitt Bruce Massey James Rowe Rupert Williams

# **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT**

Tyrone Clifford, Chairman William Bronson Beverly Dore Philip Jones

# STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Marie S. Smalls, Director Wendell Roberson, Sr., Deputy Director Kristina Weitz, Secretary

# **PUBLIC PRESENT**

None

#### CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Clifford called the recount hearing for South Carolina House District 122 Election to order at 3:12 pm.

Mr. Clifford was sworn in by Mrs. Smalls, and then Mr. Clifford swore in the Board and Secretary then led the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### RECOUNT HEARING

Mrs. Smalls explained the South Carolina Election Commission ordered a recount of the South Carolina House District 122 Election results at 2:06 pm. The purpose of the recount was a less than one-percent difference in the votes. The recount was being conducted by all the effected counties throughout the state. Beaufort County conducted their recount at 2:30 pm. Mrs. Smalls explained the provisional ballots, absentee ballots and the precincts results were recounted and informed the Board there were no changes in the results from the certified results and the run-off results.

It was motioned by Mr. Massey to accept the recounted results as certified. The motion was seconded by Mr. Williams. It was voted upon and passed unanimously.

The Recount Hearing was adjourned at 3:17 pm.